ARE YOU EVEN OLD ENOUGH TO BE A DOCTOR?

It’s been a while since I wrote or posted anything on my blog. I took a well deserved break from blogging in order to concentrate on my last year of medical school.

I think we’d all agree that I’ve heard enough of that break and we are all ready for some action. I am a little rusty but we’ll get back one step at a time.

I called one of my professors over the weekend and when he picked up the phone he happily responded “Hi Daktari” and I immediately went speechless. I must confess that I am yet to get used to that title. It looked so farfetched but I finally made it.  

There is only one problem though; it takes a lot of convincing for people who don’t know me to believe that I am a real doctor. Recently I joined one of my mentors in his clinic. After the consultation my mentor said to the patient, “Daktari here will take good care of you.” The confusion on that man’s face was really loud. He leaned in, read my badge and asked, “Are you even old enough to be a doctor?” I giggled and moved on swiftly but at the end of the interaction he confessed that he thought I was just a student or a nurse. I have had several interactions like that.  I have even lost count.

I did not know how to react to this until I found myself on the other side of this equation earlier today. I was looking for a consultant ophthalmologist and they asked me to wait for him to arrive. A few minutes later, a young man walked in and showed us to the door. When he walked into the consultation room with us, put on his white coat and asked how he can help, I was in shock. I honestly felt the need to clarify that I had asked to see an ophthalmologist NOT an optician. Then it occurred to me that the patients who have been asking if I am old enough to be a doctor are not necessarily mean people.

Long story short; the journey has just began and I am honestly so excited!! I am looking forward to every experience and interaction I will have with the patients.

Published by Wachira Fridah

God's girl on assignment. Go getter. You'll always find me where the action is😁

9 thoughts on “ARE YOU EVEN OLD ENOUGH TO BE A DOCTOR?

  1. Ready for some action. Congratulations for finally qualifying to be a Doc! Everything starts from somewhere, so let the ball roll Doktari!

    Like

  2. Ready for some action. Congratulations for finally qualifying to be a Doc! Everything starts from somewhere, so let the ball roll Doktari!

    Like

  3. We are all Ready for some action. Congratulations for finally qualifying to be a Doc! Everything starts from somewhere, so let the ball roll Doktari!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Acting Doctor

My Journey from Theatre through Medicine

Surgery Training in Kenya

Things I've learned while practicing surgery and training African doctors in Kenya

cairesonmission

Serving the Lord through medical missions and education

Pediatrics and Playdough

Travelling through Motherhood with a Pediatrician perspective

My One Penny Wisdom

Peculiar Wilfred - Factual thoughts from a curious mind

Health Tips Now

Health and Diet Tips

The girl typewriter 🔒🗝

A teenage girl with an opinion

Henittoz Tech

All Things Tech And Health

Firi's Epiphany

Faith | Lifestyle | Musings

Christian Bookaholic

Christian Book Reviews

Enough Light

"In faith there is enough light for those who want to believe and enough shadows to blind those who don't." - Blaise Pascal

The Christian Book Review Blog

Reviewing Christian Books for All Believers

iCASTE MEDIA

integrating media experience

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started